Skip to content

Vegan-in-Chief

August 21, 2013

cq5dam.web.620.398I recently read a great article in “AARP Magazine” about former President Bill Clinton. I knew he had heart disease, and I had read somewhere else that he had become vegan to deal with his health issues, but I had no idea he had also become a passionate advocate of healthy eating.

This is really pretty amazing for the man who, as our 42nd president, went running … and on his way back to the White House, stopped at McDonald’s.

In the article, Clinton didn’t act the slightest bit chagrined by the change in his diet. He didn’t confide, “You know, I’d rather have a Big Mac, but Hill says I gotta do this.” He served the reporter a vegan smorgasbord and smacked his servings down with enthusiasm. He says he relishes his new diet. And why shouldn’t he? The recipe for the quinoa salad at the luncheon was included in the magazine and sounded delicious – I tried it and found it absolutely yummy.

What brought Clinton to change his lifestyle was his family – “I wanted to live to be a grandfather,” he told the reporter. He has lost 30 pounds and says he feels better and more energetic – and he looks good, too, not his former puffy self.

What brings a person to change his or her diet can be as small as wanting to fit into a favorite pair of jeans or as big as wanting to live. Is there one compelling reason for you to give up sodas or Big Macs or any other foods that you know may be harming your health?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ani permalink
    August 21, 2013 1:34 pm

    I think there is no better reason than for your own health. If you don’t treat your body right, what else is there?

  2. August 22, 2013 3:21 pm

    I’m not a Clinton fan but good to hear he’s forgoing all the junk food!

  3. August 29, 2013 10:17 am

    I changed my lifestyle by reason of fear of disease taking me out early in life. Its great that Clinton has changed to vegan. It might just add afew years in his life.

    http://howtomakenaturalmilkkefirdrink.tumblr.com/

  4. September 1, 2013 11:25 am

    thats good.

Leave a comment