Skip to content

Recipes I Like

July 25, 2012

“What are you eating?” I get asked a lot for vegetarian recipes I consider healthful and nutritious, and that I make myself. I keep a folder of recipes I’ve cut from magazines – Whole Living and Eating Well are favorites. Yoga Journal often has good ones, too, particularly from the ayurveda tradition. Some day I’ll scan these so I’ll have a better way to refer back to them, but for now ripped pages will have to do.

Mostly, though, I have a few cookbooks I turn to again and again. One of my Christmas presents this year was How To Cook Everything Vegetarian by the New York Times’ Mark Bittman, and it’s a jewel. In seven months and dozens of recipes tried, I’ve only found one dish I didn’t quite like, and it wasn’t horrible, just a little bland for my palate. Try the Asian Tofu Burgers and the Green Beans with Walnut-Miso Dressing for starters.

Another fave is Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home, which has hands-down the best (and fastest) black bean soup recipe I’ve ever seen or tasted. Similarly, Moosewood Simple Suppers is a keeper. I’ve been using their tofu marinade for a couple of years now, and it’s become a staple at our house. Friends and family know that we actually built an entire vacation last year around visiting the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca, N.Y., so I’m definitely a fan.

Though not exclusively vegetarian, Rebecca Katz’s One Bite at a Time is excellent for anyone who’s trying to find nourishing foods to make for friends or family facing cancer. Katz is not only a chef, but has an M.S. in Nutrition Education, too (from the same university I attended), so she knows her stuff. This book is not for the faint-hearted, though – her signature Magic Mineral Broth could take you most of a day to prepare. It is well worth it, however, and would be an act of love for anyone undergoing treatment.

If you have a favorite cookbook, write in and tell me or leave a comment. If I get enough response, I’ll share a “Best of Readers” list in a future installment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

