Skip to content

Fear of Flying

June 27, 2012

The three robin babies that have been nesting on our back porch for the last few weeks are poised to fly.

They miraculously made it through the heat wave of a few weeks ago, when they were just tiny, their little heads hanging over the edge of the nest, their beaks open almost like they were crying. It was excruciating to watch.

But when the heat broke, the babies quickly became fat and crowded. This morning, I noticed them fluffing themselves a lot. The one in front (the oldest?) perched on the nest and leaned forward, trying its wings while the other two looked on. Then it sat back down, fluffed some more. Its speckled breast is positively huge. In the meantime, the mom robin came back often with food and, perhaps, encouragement. Today, I think, is the day.

I find these little guys inspirational. They are not to be rushed; they are going to fly. They take little steps – fluffing their wings, grooming themselves, standing up in the nest. I believe in them.

I also believe in you, in your ability to make health and nutrition changes that can save your life or give you a better quality of life. You don’t need to do everything at once. In fact, it’s better if you don’t. Take one thing that you believe you can do and try it for a day or a week. For example, can you cut down to one soda a day? Can you stop running out for a cookie or a candy bar when you’re bored at work? Could you give up sweets for a day? Could you forgo fast food this week? If you can, you can eventually wean yourself from these unhealthy products altogether.

Think of one thing you could do this week that you know – or have heard – will improve your health. Make it your goal, fluff yourself up and then flap your wings. Think about the robins. You can do it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2012 1:04 pm

    Today I had to clear someone else’s finished food from a table at the cafe in order to sit down. It looked like they had had a bagel and cream cheese. Hmmm I thought to myself, that would taste good, I think I want one too. I could give half to Tom so I am only eating a half of bagel…certainly better than a whole…then I told my self no, not today, I wasn’t really even hungry. I didn’t get a bagel. After reading your post, instead of feeling deprived I feel proud of myself. Thanks Paula!!

    • June 27, 2012 2:49 pm

      It’s interesting how just seeing certain foods will make you want them, even if you’re not hungry. That’s why I don’t even keep foods that will trip me up in the house. Good for you, Patricia!

  2. June 28, 2012 1:46 pm

    It helps me to add things in, and right now I’m focused on more frequent walks. I was ‘rewarded’ when I saw a Dipper yesterday! This small songbird bird was diving and swimming in the creek. I looked it up and read that Dippers feed by wading, diving, and swimming in water for aquatic insects, small fish, and fish eggs. Watch out little salmon fry!

Leave a Reply

