Skip to content

Spilling the Beans on Ketchup

March 27, 2012

I’ve been wanting to write about this for a week, but I think I’ve been in shock. Last week, an article from the Chicago Tribune, reprinted in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette because of the story’s H.J. Heinz connection, reported that more and more food manufacturers are switching from cans and bottles to foil pouches.

OK, you say, what’s the big deal? For me, the devil’s in the details. If you read on in the article, you learn that switching to pouches actually increases the shelf life of food “products” (please don’t call them “food”) from one year to two. Ka-ching! go the cash registers.

You also read that the packaging is geared toward the under-35 set, of which I am decidedly not a member. Young consumers apparently see the packaging as more contemporary (OK, I’ll grant them that; cans are so 1950s). But get this – they also perceive pouches as “fresher.”

So the packaging doubles the shelf life and our younger generation thinks what they’re eating is actually “fresh”? Like I said, I’m in shock. Both at what consumers will allow themselves to believe and at what manufacturers will do to sell them ultra-processed, nutrient-deficient garbage … that, oh yeah, could be 2 years old.

Don’t be fooled by packaging, folks – I happen to believe you’re smarter than that. And also, I’m not quite sure why you need that sugary ketchup anyway. Try some sliced or chopped tomato – it’s way more nutritious and tastes fresh because, hey, it is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 12:42 pm

    Thanks Paula for the info…who knew. I hate change so I would probably stick with the bottles- I wish they still were (glass). I will keep an eye out in my 20 somethings kids refrig though!! Does it even have to be refrigerated?

  2. March 27, 2012 12:58 pm

    It doesn’t! Scary, huh?

Leave a Reply

