Skip to content

I’ll Show You Mine If You Show Me Yours

March 7, 2012

Way too organized to be my pantry

I promised to talk about how you go about keeping a “well-stocked” pantry. Basically, it requires having enough staples on hand so you can whip up something healthful in short order. If your pantry just has some ketchup and a box of pasta, or your refrigerator doesn’t hold much more than mayonnaise and milk, you need some pantry help.

To give you an example, I went through my own pantry and refrigerator and here are 10 of the non-perishables:

1. Canned organic beans – many, many varieties. I know it’s cheaper to buy beans in bulk, but this is a luxury I allow myself to save time. Eden Organic are BPA-free to boot. Stock up when they’re on sale.

2. Extra virgin olive oil

3. Basmati and brown rice

4. Whole grain pasta

5. Canned tomatoes – I buy Muir Glen, which is organic and BPA-free.

6. Sun-dried tomatoes (not in oil)

7. Vinegar – different types, all organic

8. Organic vegetable broth

9. Lite coconut milk

10. Organic raisins

And here are 10 staples always on hand in my fridge:

1. Bragg’s amino acids

2. Thai chili sauce

3. Dark sesame oil

4. Whole-wheat tortillas

5. Organic butter

6. Peanut and almond butter

7. Nuts and seeds of various types

8. Organic eggs

9. Organic plain yogurt

10. Local cheese

You’d be amazed at what you can make with these staples, plus some fresh produce, tofu or meat. What’s in your pantry?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 12:18 pm

    How long does it stay looking that organized?

  2. March 8, 2012 12:26 pm

    It’s not my pantry — mine is a mess. Not well-organized, but well-stocked! 😉

Leave a Reply

